stayingalivemoma

Life Is Good, Bad and Ugly

Why are our churches failing us?


A picture of Pisgah Baptist Church in Four Oak...

Image via Wikipedia

I called a church the other day to get help with my light bill because it was going to be shut off that day.

It’s not that they couldn’t help me that upset me; it’s that they wouldn’t.

You’re not in our area anymore. Sorry. Sorry? That’s all I get? What ever happened to love thy neighbor?

‘You’re not a member of our church so screw you needing help.” Too many times, we hear about churches welcoming us into their “church home”. Come as you are, we are stewards for the Lord, blah, blah, blah.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not an atheist, I do believe in God, I am a born-again Christian. But time and time again I get burned by the very people who are supposed to be helping us. I need to eat, just like you need to eat. I need a roof over my head, just like you do. I have a family to support too.

How about you teach me how to fish so I can fish for myself?

Now we have priests raping young boys and megachurch pastors doing inappropriate things with its members and I’m the bad guy?

Hey, I know the church can’t help every single person that calls them. I’m not an idiot. But if someone calls you and they’re getting evicted tomorrow or have no lights on and you CAN help, don’t turn them away just because their not part of your “flock” or don’t live in your zip code or say Amen different from how you do.

Matthew 25 reads:

35‘For I was hungry, and you gave Me something to eat; I was thirsty, and you gave Me something to drink; I was a stranger, and you invited Me in36naked, and you clothed Me; I was sick, and you visited Me; I was in prison, and you came to Me.’ 37“Then the righteous will answer Him, ‘Lord, when did we see You hungry, and feed You, or thirsty, and give You something to drink? 38‘And when did we see You a stranger, and invite You in, or naked, and clothe You?39‘When did we see You sick, or in prison, and come to You?’ 40“The King will answer and say to them, ‘Truly I say to you, to the extent that you did it to one of these brothers of Mine, even the least of them, you did it to Me.’

Come on churches! Don’t turn people away by being a cheerleader for your click. We need churches to help us, motivate us, impress on us! Stop stepping on our backs and looking the other way. If I have no gas in my car, how can I look for a job? If I have no phone or internet, how will jobs contact me? If I have no power, how can I cook for my kids?

Just a little something to think about.

If you like this, read more of my articles: http://stayingalivemoma.hubpages.com/_2qasbbw091npz/hub/The-Art-of-Living-Hand-to-Mouth

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Why are our churches failing us?

  1. I hear what you are saying! In our bible study class we’ve been reading the establishment of the church starting @ Pentecost… at the latter end of the chapter starting around vs. 42 And they continued stedfastly in the apostles’ doctrine and fellowship, and in breaking of bread, and in prayers… Vs.45 And sold their possessions and goods, and parted them to all men, as every man had need. So we talked about how these people sold so that those who lacked anything had their needs met even the widows that are spoken of Acts 6:1-7 men were chosen to help provide for the widows… We are supposed to be helpers of one another… brothers and sisters…. your hurt I hurt.. you rejoice all rejoice… With one accord.. God is really screaming get back to Pentecost… to the church.. the rock.. foundation which is built on Jesus

Leave a Reply

